Skip to content

Three new leaders elected to AIA Board of Directors

Three new leaders were announced at the recent AIA Conference on Architecture & Design, held June 5-8 in Washington, D.C. The new members of the Board of Directors will start their terms in December.

Table of Contents

Three new leaders have been elected to The American Institute of Architects’ (AIA) Board of Directors, to serve terms beginning on December 13, 2024. The results were announced at the AIA Conference on Architecture & Design, held June 5-8 in Washington, D.C.

 The new AIA delegates elected are:
•    Illya Azaroff, FAIA as 2025 President-elect/2026 President; 
•    Joshua Flowers, FAIA as 2025-2026 Secretary; 
•    Matthew Toddy, AIA as 2025 -2027 At-Large Director.

Illya Azaroff, FAIA, is the founding principal of +LAB Architect and a distinguished architect, geographer, and professor at the New York City of Technology (CUNY). Azaroff has led at every level of AIA, from founding committees to serving as the 2021 AIA New York State president.

Having chaired the COP28 delegation to Dubai, he currently holds the position of Chair of CCADE - Committee on Climate Action and Design Excellence and serves as an At-Large Director on the AIA National Board.

“Our collective mission at the AIA is profound—to create a world that's resilient, sustainable, and equitable. I believe that the institute must act as a catalyst, propelling each member forward, providing the resources for success,” said Azaroff.

Joshua Flowers, FAIA, is a registered architect and licensed attorney. Flowers’ leadership within AIA includes being the 2024 Vice Moderator of the AIA Strategic Council where he leads AIA’s efforts to study issues affecting the future of the profession. Flowers was president of AIA Tennessee in 2019 and AIA Memphis in 2012.

As secretary, Flowers will focus on advancing shared imperatives, communication and transparency, and facilitating change. Flowers said, “Clear and open channels of communication are essential not only for decision-making processes but also for promoting inclusivity and collaboration across the local, state, and national levels of the AIA."

Matthew Toddy, AIA is a Principal at Elevation Studio and an active member of AIA Columbus and AIA Ohio. Toddy served as the 2022 President of AIA Columbus and was the 2023 AIA Young Architects Forum Chair. Recently, Toddy was recognized with the 2023 Mentor Award from AIA Ohio and served on the 2024 AIA National Conference Advisory Group.

"We must work together to elevate architects in our communities into positions of influence. By raising public awareness, connecting with key stakeholders, and equipping architects to be citizen leaders, we can advocate for the importance and value of design in shaping our communities," said Toddy.

Visit for more information.




CPA Elects New 2024 Officers and Executive Committee Members

CPA Elects New 2024 Officers and Executive Committee Members

The CPA Board has elected the following at-large Executive Committee members and Officer positions effective immediately. Newly elected Executive Committee members are Steve Carroll, COO of Swiss Krono, Larry Broadfoot, COO of Collins Products, and Ray Chaaraoui, Sales Director of Kronospan. The 2024 Vice Chair and Secretary/Treasurer positions were

Members Public